ACCUMULATING PERIPHERALS


Things that are against the rules in a cab in Bangkok by mattsteinglass
October 16, 2010, 1:08 pm
Filed under: Asia, Culture

It’s a little hard to see in this blown-up detail of an iPhone shot, but these icons show you what’s off-limits in a Bangkok airport taxi.

 

Bangkok cab no-nos

Bangkok cab no-nos

 

For reference, that’s:

  • smoking
  • durian (world’s smelliest fruit)
  • drinking alcohol
  • pets
  • having sex
  • firearms
  • livestock

On the “cultural similarities” index, the “having sex” icon represents the missionary position. On the other hand, I think the differentiation between “pets” and “livestock” would probably be unnecessary in an American cab.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I thought the fifth was “no strangling.”

Comment by Doug

lol, worth the wait

Comment by Noumenon

[...] Via. [...]

Pingback by No firearms in my cab « Disruptivism

I think we need more “No durian fruit” signs everywhere. In the spirit of trying something new, I purchased with some friends some durian fruit creme wafers from a local Asian/Hispanic grocery store. While driving home a friend in the back seat opened the package. Luckily my window was down and there were no other cars around me because I immediately vomited.

IMO, I have an iron stomach. I never knew such a vile smell could exist.

Comment by Keith

I have a clearer version of those restrictions here. I found them on a minivan going from Kanchanaburi to Bangkok: http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5094/5548860844_81db764077_b.jpg

Comment by kirsten

hi Matt, I just heard you on twee dingen.
I so agree and feel vindicated about not being easily admitted into Dutch social circles. I have lived here for nearly 30 years and still feel like an outsider in certain ways. We landed up in a little village north of Groningen, so that is another story from the big cities.
Anyway, nice to hear your thoughts, I come from Pittsburgh, had an English mom and Irish father and was born in Ireland. I’m married to a Dutchman. Feel free to get in touch anytime you’d like a good old chinwag in English. I was just back in the states for 5 weeks for the first time in 10 years and it brought some things about living between cultures into sharp focus for me, it would be great to exchange views.
Your Dutch is great by the way.
You can contact me through my blog artcalling on wordpress. Kind regards,
Sarah

Comment by Sarah Zoutewelle-Morris




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

