ACCUMULATING PERIPHERALS


A note to whoever is bugging my phone by mattsteinglass
July 31, 2008, 8:50 pm
Filed under: Vietnam | Tags: , ,

Dear sirs,

Please inform your superiors that the Soviet-era equipment you are using to bug both of my telephone lines is primitive and of unacceptable quality, and I demand that you replace it with something more sophisticated and up to date. Your bug produces a loud crackling noise on the line much of the time, preventing me from recording broadcast-quality telephone interviews with sources for radio reports. I am sure that quieter and less obtrusive bugs are widely available, if not in Vietnam, then at Pantip Plaza in Bangkok. I understand why you might be interested in monitoring potentially disruptive communications with sources outside of Vietnam, but I hardly think that my recent interview with an American poet who wishes to preserve ancient Vietnamese ideographic script falls into this category.

Sincerely,

Matt Steinglass

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

