ACCUMULATING PERIPHERALS


The problem of our times is the problem of the fifty yard line by mattsteinglass
August 7, 2008, 12:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Ta-Nehisi Coates writes:

One of the best things about watching football is the utter disregard for color. Again, I see the world through the lens of a Cowboys fan–I can’t imagine two people with more dissimilar backgrounds than Troy Aikman and Michael Irvin, and yet they became great friends as a result of football.

I don’t actually think I understand a lot about what it’s like to grow up black in America, but I agree that in a lot of arenas whites and blacks can and have bridged their divides and created a flawed but successful multiracial society, still largely segregated but with room for hope. But one gap I cannot bridge, one leap I am not prepared to make, is to try to imagine what it would be like to “see the world through the lens of a Cowboys fan.” I don’t think there should be internment or re-education camps for Cowboys fans, but the notion that they should be accepted in society as valued citizens without demanding some kind of public apology seems to me absurd.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

