ACCUMULATING PERIPHERALS


Libertarian city planning: it is urgent that we do nothing by mattsteinglass
October 15, 2009, 9:54 am
Filed under: Libertarianism

On a commenter’s recommendation, I’m checking out Randal O’Toole, a city planner who believes that planning cities is stupid. So far I’ve had time to read exactly one post, Compact Cities Won’t Save the Planet. The argument: MIT scientists say we must take action immediately to stop global warming. Creating more compact cities cannot be done immediately. Therefore, we should not create more compact cities to stop global warming.

I don’t think anyone reading this blog will have any trouble perceiving the logical flaw here. But by way of analogy: I want to look slimmer immediately. Exercise takes time to make me look slimmer. Therefore, I should not exercise to look slimmer.

I’ll read more, but so far…not impressed.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

