ACCUMULATING PERIPHERALS


My weird corner of the economy by mattsteinglass
December 6, 2009, 10:43 pm
Filed under: Economics

I’m used to the fact that my particular occupation, journalist/writer, is such an insignificant portion of the labor force that it generally doesn’t show up on drop-down “Occupation” lists when I sign up for things. For that matter, in a lot of those drop-down lists the entire “Media” sector doesn’t appear. But I was struck by the drop-down list that appeared when I signed up for the Financial Times today:

 

Only capitalist parasites need apply

Welcome to the service economy

With the exception of “Research/development” and “Technology”, none of these occupations describe people who make anything. Certainly the old Marxist critique that managers and middlemen are parasitical on the “real” economy was a false and destructive way of looking at the world, but aren’t we taking things a bit far here?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Brian Vinay, Matt Steinglass and James Emery, Tweets Tube. Tweets Tube said: My weird corner of the economy http://bit.ly/6rALKS […]

Pingback by Tweets that mention My weird corner of the economy - Matt Steinglass - Accumulating Peripherals - True/Slant -- Topsy.com

That’s why I had to give up cowboying and construction and go into the parasite trade. It just got too humiliating always answering “other” when I had to explain myself to finance periodicals.

Comment by citifieddoug

I recently had the exact same experience with the FT! I was surprised- they clearly have a pretty narrow idea of who there readers are, or should be

Comment by Devon Pendleton




Leave a Reply

